18 States Sue Education Department

Attorneys general from 18 states have filed suit against Education Secretary Betsy DeVos and the United States Department of Education after Devos rescinded the Borrower Defense Rules in June, 2017. The Rules, which were finalized in October 2016, aimed to hold accountable for-profit schools — which rely on federal student loans — by preventing them from using forced arbitration clauses to prevent court claims over fraud. Read the NPR story and the complaint here.